Four teachers from Alaska and others were recipients of a presidential honor for education in science, technology, engineering and math.

A release from the Office of the Press Secretary said President Donald Trump announced Tuesday the schools given the Presidential Awards of Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching along with the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring.

Schools from all 50 states and abroad have been honored, including the Department of Defense Education Activity schools and schools in the U.S. territories.

Alaska educators who received of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching:
Jennifer Childress, Dimond High School
Joshua Hall, Dimond High School
Dawn Wilcox, Campbell STEM Elementary
Angie Wright, Auke Bay Elementary School

The awards are made possible by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy along with the National Science Foundation. 

The schools and teachers chosen are determined by a panel of mathematicians, scientists and educators at the state and national levels who review applications before submitting nominees. 

The STEM mentors award is given to those who play a role outside the classroom setting in the academic or professional development of the future STEM workforce were chosen. Students, administrators and colleagues nominate people or organizations for mentoring over a five-year span. These mentors support kindergarten through college levels in addition to anyone who recently started their careers in STEM.

The teachers and organizations recognized this week are the 2017 and 2018 awardees.

Copyright KTVA 2019. All rights reserved.