Three Alaska schools are being recognized for their academic performances and honored as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2019.

A Thursday news release from the U.S. Department of Education lists Aurora Elementary School, Fred and Sarah Machetanz Elementary School and O’Malley Elementary School as the recipients.

“We recognize and honor your important work in preparing students for successful careers and meaningful lives” said U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos in a video message to the honorees. “As a National Blue Ribbon School, your school demonstrates what is possible when committed educators hold all students and staff to high standards and create vibrant, innovative cultures of teaching and learning.”

DeVos was recently in Alaska, visiting schools in Anchorage, Wasilla and Nome.

The National Blue Ribbon School Program has recognized more than 9,000 schools in its 37-year history. This year, 362 institutions received the award.  

Copyright 2019 KTVA. All rights reserved.