Multiple agencies have implemented an immediate suspension of the sale and use of fireworks across the state due to fire danger, the Department of Public Safety said in a press release Thursday evening.

The suspension remains in effect until further notice, troopers say. The impacted communities are:

•     Fairbanks North Star Borough
•     Kenai Peninsula Borough
•     Matanuska-Susitna Borough
•     Kodiak Borough
•     Copper River Valley, including Glennallen south to Valdez
•     Western Alaska, including McGrath and points west
•     Tanana Valley north of the Alaska Range
•     Northern Panhandle, including Haines in the north, Skagway, and Juneau to the south

“Our firefighting resources and capabilities on the ground and in the air are stretched thin," State Fire Marshal Richard Boothby wrote. "That combined with the weather forecast going into next week, the safety of Alaskans and visitors is paramount. The suspension of the sale and use of fireworks will assist in protecting life and property.”

According to the press release, the State Forester's Office said there is high to very high fire danger throughout Alaska, with expected dry and hot weather, and temperatures up to 90 degrees Fahrenheit.

The Division of Forestry says there are currently 102 uncontained fires burning in Alaska and 273,551 acres burned so far. More than 500 staff have been deployed to contain the Swan Lake fire on the Kenai Peninsula and over 200 personnel are working to put out the Shovel Creek fire outside of Fairbanks, troopers said.

Wildfire updates are available on the Alaska Wildland Fire Information website. Safety information to protect homes and prepare for wildfires is available from the Division of Forestry.

Copyright 2019 KTVA. All rights reserved.