A newly formed task force, appointed by the University of Alaska Board of Regents, will look at what it would it take to possibly transition from three university campuses to one. 

The 11-member team will look at several structure options moving forward. In a release from the University of Alaska, the regent's chair John Davies said, "The task force is comprised of respected Alaskans who bring a mix of leadership experience in higher education, business and government."

The group was created in response to sharp budget cuts proposed by Gov. Mike Dunleavy. In his budget, the UA system is facing a loss of $134 million dollars in state funding, a cut of 41%.

The task force will advise the Board of Regents, which must provide an update to the Legislature by Dec. 1, 2019, according to the release.

Davies said the task force will consider at least four potential structure options for the UA system moving forward. According to the release, those options include:

  1. Status Quo – Three separately accredited universities with the community college campuses part of their respective regional university.
  2. Lead Campus – Three separately accredited universities but with more focus of specific academic programs at each single university along with expanded availability of courses across the system via distance delivery. 
  3. One University – A single accredited university for all of Alaska with the community colleges organized as a unit within the university.
  4. Three Independent Universities – Three separately accredited universities and associated community colleges with independent administrations and no statewide administration.

Davies added that the group will provide a progress report to the Board of Regents in September.

Copyright 2019 KTVA. All rights reserved.