The Alaska Women’s Hall of Fame has been honoring outstanding achievements of women across the state since 2009. On Tuesday, the nonprofit will add 10 more names to its roster during its 2019 induction ceremony.

The honorees come from around Alaska:

- Virginia (McCory) Blanchard, Juneau

- Marie Qaqaun (Adams) Carroll, Utqiagvik

- Heather (Lundgren) Flynn, Anchorage

- Abigale “Abbe” (Ryan) Hensley, Anchorage and Kotzebue

- Mary K. Hughes, Anchorage

- Beverly “Kikikaaq” Hoffman, Bethel

- Roxanna Elizabeth “Betsy” (Cuddy) Lawer, Anchorage

- Vera K. (Kingeekuk) Metcalf, Nome and Savoonga

- Mary Ciuniq Pete, Bethel

- Margaret (McMullian) Pugh, Juneau

Hall president and alumna Jane Angvik spoke with KTVA’s Daybreak Monday and says the inductees come from all walks of life, but also have one thing in common -- they're women who have excelled and given back in order to make a difference in Alaska. 

"She was a person who went before the International Whaling Commission on behalf of the Inupiat people of Alaska, to be able to originally get appropriation of the whales by the International Whaling Commission," Angvik said of Carroll. 

"Abby Hensley is a woman who has been working with early childhood education her entire life and she runs an organization called Best Beginnings. Their job is to be able to advocate for what happens with kids between [ages] 0 and 5. And one of the things they do is actually mail a book to a child every month, from 0 to 5, any child who is born in Alaska," Angvik said. "They have done 18,000 books over 123 communities across the state. Amazing women."

Inductees must be at least 65, although there is an exception for women who are deceased. 

Angvik gave the example of 2009 hall inductee and four-time Iditarod champion Susan Butcher. Butcher was 51 when she died in 2006.

The 2019 induction ceremony takes place on Tuesday, April 30 at the First Baptist Church in Anchorage. Doors open at 5 p.m. and the ceremony begins at 6 p.m. 

Copyright 2019 KTVA. All rights reserved.