Anchorage police have named the three officers who shot and killed a man wielding a BB gun in Midtown earlier this week.

On Thursday night, police released the names of officers Matthew Hall, Nathan Lewis and Brett Eggiman three days after the Monday shooting of 31-year-old Bishar Hassan. In the statement, APD listed the amount of time each officer has been with the department.

•   Officer Nathan Lewis (with APD since December 2016)
•   Officer Matthew Hall (with APD since November 2013)
•   Officer Brett Eggiman (with APD since June 2018)

Officers responded Monday night to reports of Hassan walking around with a handgun in the area of 16th Avenue and A Street. When they arrived, they encountered Hassan, who allegedly pointed a Daisy BB gun at them.

Anchorage police say a man fatally shot by officers on Monday, April 1, 2019 was carrying a replica-style BB gun similar to this one. (From APD)

Hall, Lewis and Eggiman opened fire; officers provided first aid to Hassan, but he died later that evening at a local hospital.

Court records show that Hassan had previously relied on a Somali interpreter in court.

Hassan is the second person to be killed by APD officers this year, after the March 7 death of Dylan Aikey. Police responded to a reported Airport Heights vehicle break-in; when they saw Aikey, he allegedly opened fire on four officers who then fatally shot him.

Monday's shooting remains under review by Anchorage police, and will also be examined by the state Office of Special Prosecutions.

Copyright 2019 KTVA. All rights reserved.