The Internal Revenue Service is extending some tax deadlines for people who live or own businesses in the Municipality of Anchorage, Kenai Peninsula Burough and Matanuska-Susitna Borough after President Trump and the Federal Emergency Management Agency declared disasters following the 7.0 Nov. 30 earthquake.

According to a Tuesday release from the service, 2018 individual income tax returns and payments normally due on April 15, 2019 are now due 15 days later on April 30, 2019.

Some business tax deadlines are also being pushed out. The cutoffs for making quarterly estimated income tax payments, normally Jan. 15 and April 15, plus quarterly payroll and excise tax returns, normally Jan. 31, are extended to April 30, 2019.

The IRS is also waiving penalties on payroll and excise tax deposits due between Nov. 30 and Dec. 17, 2018, as long as the deposits were made by Dec. 17.

If a taxpayer believes they received a late filing or late payment penalty notice from the IRS in error, they should call the IRS to have the penalty removed.

Copyright 2019 KTVA. All rights reserved.