Candidates can file to run in the April 2 municipal election starting at 8 a.m. Friday, according to local officials.

Municipal Clerk Barbara Jones' office said in a statement that candidate filing forms are available on the municipality's website as well as at Jones' office at City Hall, 632 West Sixth Ave., Suite 250, and the Municipality of Anchorage election center, 619 E. Ship Creek Avenue, Suite 100, Door D.

The following Anchorage Assembly seats on the 2019 ballot include:

• Seat A in Eagle River/Chugiak
• Seat D in West Anchorage
• Seat F in Midtown Anchorage 
• Seat H in East Anchorage 
• Seat J in South Anchorage

Anchorage School Board seats A and B, as well as various Service Area Board of Supervisors seats, are also on the ballot.

"On Thursday, January 17, 2019 at 1 p.m. the public is invited to witness the random drawing of letters of the alphabet by the Municipal Clerk," the release stated. "This drawing will determine the order the candidates’ names will appear on the 2019 Regular Municipal Election ballot, pursuant to Anchorage Municipal Code 28.40.010C."

The drawing to determine name placements will be at Jones' office.

"The April 2, 2019 Regular Municipal Election is a Vote by Mail election where qualified registered voters will be mailed a ballot package 21 days before Election Day," the release stated. "Voters will have the opportunity to study the ballot with trusted resources, mark their choices, sign the voter declaration, and return their ballot."

The deadline to file for office ends at 5 p.m. on Friday, Feb. 1.

Copyright 2019 KTVA. All rights reserved.