President Trump has signed an update to national earthquake preparedness programs into law.

A news release sent by Sen. Lisa Murkowski's office stated the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program Reauthorization Act, a bill championed by the Alaska Republican and California Democrat Sen. Dianne Feinstein, was signed by the president on Tuesday.

Before arriving on Trump's desk, the bill passed the U.S. House in November and unanimously passed the U.S. Senate in September.

Alaska's senior senator praised the president, saying the legislation modernizes safety programs to help states like Alaska prepare for and respond to earthquakes. She says it comes at an opportune time, less than two weeks since a 7.0 quake near Anchorage.

"Alaskans’ response is a testament to our resilience and grit, but we also know there is still more that can be done, which is why the enactment of this legislation could not be more timely,” Murkowski said. “The revamped earthquake hazards reduction program will help equip Alaskans and all Americans in seismically active states with the most advanced science and technology to better protect lives and communities.”

The National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program was first authorized in 1977. The bill signed by the president Tuesday emphasizes continued development of early warning systems through the Advanced National Seismic System and requires a set of maps be made to show active faults and folds, liqufaction susceptibility and possible landslides.

The bill also calls for a comprehensive assessment of the nation's earthquake risk reduction progress, a report on areas that need more funding, plus an evaluation of resulting hazards like tsunamis and landslides.

Copyright 2018 KTVA. All rights reserved.