An attorney, an air carrier executive, a commercial fisherman and a finance officer have been named to the Iditarod board of directors’ executive committee, the Iditarod Trail Committee announced Friday.

The new executive committee represents on-going changes with the board that includes five new members named last month. The members' appointment follows a shake-up recommended in an independent review by the Foraker Group.

Newly appointed board member Mike Mills, a partner at Dorsey & Whitney LLP, succeeds outgoing president Andy Baker who served six years at the board’s top post.

“I leave the board in the very capable hands of each of the remaining members and will look forward to being a spectator and fan of the Last Great Race on Earth,” Baker said in a prepared statement. “Ever since the Foraker Group report came out, I have worked to take those recommendations seriously and get the board to a place where the new leadership will thrive.”

Mills was among the five new members named. He serves on boards with the Covenant House Alaska and the Anchorage Community Development Authority.

“I am honored to be on the Iditarod board and look forward to establishing a best-practices culture based on integrity, stability and financial soundness,” Mills said in a prepared statement. “This board will work hard to gain the trust of the stakeholders so that the focus can be on the dogs and race itself.”

Joining Mills on the executive team are:

Danny Seybert, president and CEO of PenAir. He has served on the board for seven years, and will remain as vice president.
Mike Jonrowe, commercial fisherman. Jonrowe, husband of retired longtime musher DeeDee Jonrowe, continues serving as secretary.
Ryan York, chief financial officer, Bristol Bay Native Corp. York is the second new board member to be elected to the executive committee. He will serve as treasurer.

Copyright 2018 KTVA. All rights reserved.