The Alaska Republican Party has narrowed down its initial list of 11 candidates to replace state Sen. Mike Dunleavy, who has stepped down as he runs for governor, to three finalists.

Tuckerman Babcock, chair of the state GOP, said Tuesday that the names of three men – state Rep. George Rauscher, retiree Tom Braund and teacher Todd Smolden – will be sent to Gov. Bill Walker. Walker will choose one of them to succeed the Wasilla Republican.

The selections were made Monday night after a joint meeting of House Districts 9 and 10, according to a party email.

The Alaska Democratic Party recently sent three names to Walker in similar fashion to replace state Rep. Dean Westlake, who resigned last month amid a sexual-misconduct scandal.

Liz Raines contributed information to this story.

Copyright 2018 KTVA. All rights reserved.