Chugiak High senior Derryk Snell is the 2017-2018 Alaska Gatorade Football Player of the Year. Snell led the Mustangs to an ASAA state semifinal appearance, accruing 2,197 yards with 38 touchdowns.

Gatorade names the top football player in each state, using criteria such as athletic excellence, academic achievement and character. Snell, a two-time and reigning Alaska state offensive player of the year, volunteers with Special Olympics Alaska and mentors young athletes in the Chugiak/Eagle River community.

The 6-foot-2 inch, 220-pound running back and linebacker has verbally committed to Montana State University to play football on a full scholarship. Snell joins current NFL players Mitchell Trubisky, Greg Olsen, Matthew Stafford, Harrison Smith, Latavius Murray, Brock Osweiler, and Leonard Fournette as receivers of the award.

Copyright 2017 KTVA. All rights reserved.