With less than two weeks until he is sworn into office, governor-elect Bill Walker announced his chief of staff and spokesperson Wednesday.

Jim Whitaker, former mayor of the Fairbanks North Star Borough, will serve as Walker’s chief of staff, a press release says. He has also served on the Alaska Legislature.

Walker also announced he had appointed Grace Jang, most recently a reporter and producer at KTUU, to be his spokesperson. Jang has also worked for KTVA and other news outlets in the Lower 48.

The appointments are some of the first official positions announced since the independent ousted Gov. Sean Parnell in the gubernatorial race earlier this month. Last week, Walker named the co-chairs of his transition team — Ana Hoffman and Rick Halford.

Walker will be sworn into office Dec. 1 in Juneau.

The post Walker names chief of staff, spokesperson appeared first on KTVA 11.