Gov. Bill Walker named three new members to the Alaska Gasline Development Corporation’s Board of Directors and announced his plans for gas line development in a Thursday press conference.

Former Senate president Rick Halford of Dillingham, attorney Joe Paskvan of Fairbanks — a former state senator — and former Bethel mayor and businessman Hugh Short of Anchorage will join AGDC’s seven-member governing body upon confirmation by the Legislature. The board oversees the development of liquefied natural gas in Alaska.

Both Halford and Paskvan have worked intensively on oil and gas issues. Short is currently an investment banker.

In January, Walker removed three AGDC members, people well known in the oil and gas industry and appointed by former Gov. Sean Parnell.

Regarding gas line plans, the governor said he intends to increase the volume of the Alaska Stand Alone Pipeline (ASAP) project and continue developing the Alaska Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG) project.

“What it comes down to is this: We will work with the producers to continue to develop the AK LNG project,” Walker wrote in a recent editorial. “With ASAP, we will work with gas buyers to secure the opportunities the market offers. Whichever project is first to produce a solid plan, and conditions acceptable to the state, will get the state’s full support. Or, perhaps the two projects could be combined at some point along the way.”

The Legislature has the power to confirm or reject the governor’s appointments. Republican majority leaders say they’ll look over the qualifications of the three and see if they mesh with the statutes governing AGDC.

If confirmed, the three will join John Burns of Fairbanks, Dave Cruz of Palmer, Department of Labor Commissioner Heidi Drygas and Acting Commerce Commissioner Fred Parady on the board.

–Rhonda McBride contributing reporting.

The post Walker appoints 3 to gas line board appeared first on KTVA 11.