Gov. Bill Walker announced two new appointments to the Alaska Gasline Development Corporation’s (AGDC) board of directors Monday afternoon, one of whom will replace a member that challenged the governor’s authority over the Permanent Fund Dividend program Friday.

North Pole’s Warren Christian and David Wight, of Anchorage, will fill the seats of Luke Hopkins and Rick Halford, whose terms expired this month. Halford was a co-signer on a lawsuit filed Friday that challenged the governor’s ability to diminish PFD checks this year through a budget veto.

Halford could not be immediately reached for comment Monday.

Hopkins was appointed to the board last November after Walker fired the board’s then chair, John Burns. Hopkins is now running for state Senate.

“I thank Luke Hopkins and Rick Halford for their service on the AGDC Board of Directors,” Walker said in a press release Monday. “I sincerely appreciate the efforts they made to advance the Alaska LNG project.”

AGDC is currently transition the Alaska Liquefied Natural Gasline (AKLNG) project from its model as a partnership with BP, ConocoPhillips and ExxonMobil, to a state-run project after the three oil giants announced their exit from the project last month.

Wight served as president and CEO of the Alyeska Pipeline Service Company from 2000 to 2006.

“Prior to that he was the President and Chairman of BP Amoco Energy Company Trinidad and Tobago from 1992 – 2000, playing an integral role in the development and construction of an LNG facility in Trinidad,” according to Walker’s press release.

Christian is the current president Doyon Associated LLC, a Fairbanks-based company that specializes in Arctic pipeline construction. Christian was previously the president and manager of Arctic Slope Regional Corporation Energy Services’ Houston Contracting Company.

“I look forward to seeing the contributions they make to the AGDC Board, and adding to the outstanding work this group has already done to develop the Alaska LNG project,” Walker said.

Walker is also re-appointing the Board’s current vice chairman, Hugh Short, to his seat.

KTVA 11's Liz Raines can be reached via email or on Facebook and Twitter

Correction: An earlier version of this report incorrectly spelled David Wight’s name. It has been corrected. 

The post Walker appoints 2 to state gas line development board appeared first on KTVA 11.